Conversationally challenged


I have a knack of saying the wrong thing at the wrong time! It started way back when I was a teenager. I remember having a crush on a guy in the local store. I plucked up the courage to go in and order some Lerbert Shemons ( Sherbert Lemons)! He was kind enough not to ridicule me. Needless to say I never returned.
My affliction continued over the next few years and included me talking to someone who had a brain tumour about how my headache was killing me! (I know!)
But my all time favourite was when I was invited to do a presentation at a Hospital Trust. I took a junior colleague with me and we were expecting to present our services to 3 people. When we entered the room, there were over 40 faces peering back! I was pretty confident before I went in. I knew the material backwards. But this sudden change in events flustered me. I started my introduction providing a background on the organisation. I disclosed 2 internal departments, the Technical and the Medical. Suddenly the whole room was in hysterics. I looked around and asked what was funny. They pointed to the slides and said how amusing it was to see such as large group of healthcare personnel together in this day and age. I thought ok, weird bunch. It wasnt until afterwards that my colleague informed me that instead of saying Technical, I had said TESTICLE! seriously! How was I going to let the CEO know how the meeting had gone? Oh, it was fine Sir, apart from the Testicle!
A few Months later, I was at a job fair. There was a crowd around my booth, when I noticed a familiar face walking by. I couldn’t place her, until she loudly said to her colleague..”isnt that Testicle girl?” oh my, it was going to stick with me..
I blush whenever I tell the story. Am I alone in my ability to say the absolute wrong thing at the wrong time? Surely there are others out there with verbal challenges? What’s the worse thing that you’e said at the most inopportune moment?

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Conversationally challenged

  1. Sam says:

    Very funny! Recently, while working with the minor hockey players, I meant to say to the teens: “come with me and I’ll show you how to handle the puck.” Instead, I said: “I’ll try and help each one of you with a *#?@ !!”

    • Nice! My Mum was asked to be in the local church play. She was a cleaner and had to say once a month she could blow through the house. She apparently said she’d give a blow job once per month!

  2. Him Up North says:

    LOL, excellent. I’m afraid from now on you are going to be “testicle girl”…

  3. Pretty sure I’ve not said anything that’s going to beat that. Oh MAN will I be sniggering at you now 😉

  4. JallieDaddy says:

    Testicle Girl, huh? HUN is right: you really shouldn’t have mentioned that! I’ve made loads of conversational gaffs too. I also have a bad memory for them…

  5. Hmmmm, of course Freud would argue that ‘testicle’ wasn’t the wrong word at all, and that something deep and dark and interesting was being revealed. But then, he was a sex-obsessed freak, at least according to the girls in my ‘A’ level psychology class.

    But my, they’ve started to be very careful over the things they say!

  6. Gone Bananas says:

    LMAO Umm yeah Testicle Girl is gonna stick! Sounds completely like something I’d do! x

Leave a Reply

