Since women burned their Bras


A good friend commented that manners and respect are intertwined and that got me thinking.
We’ve come a long way since women burned their bras to get us the
vote. Has that same equality caused us to forgo common courtesy and decency?
When I was pregnant I had a business meeting with a client. I waddled down to the subway (tube) and stuffed myself into the carriage. I suffered from Symphasis Pubis Diastasis in pregnancy. Which caused excruciating pain. In the subway it was stifling and the air was pungent. I tried to navigate my way along looking for a seat as my journey wasn’t short. All the seats were  taken. Men looked at me. Mothers with older children looked at me, but they did not offer their seats. In the end a lady around my mums age stood  up to let me sit and I felt so guilty. Seeing what was happening a young guy did then give up his seat for the lady.
Is it no longer common practice to show compassion or respect? If I had been disabled or elderly would the outcome have been the same? We are working hard to instill our daughters, with manners, respect and compassion for all others irrelevant of age, race, or gender however, on a daily basis I’m constantly reminded of how those values
are disappearing.
We recently went to the swimming baths, there were some young guys ahead who let the door slam behind them. We were struggling through with the baby car seat and our three-year old in tow, when one of the guys glanced around. Having seen us he then said “sorry if I’d have seen the kids I wouldn’t have slammed it!” Is it ok to close the door in the face of someone because they can struggle to open it their self?
I’m all for equality but I’m not about to whip out my Victoria Secrets and ignite them. Lets get back to basics people. Hold that door for someone not expecting it, give up your seat to make someone comfortable, tell them they’re welcome when you get thanked. Start today and let’s do some random acts of kindness and remind people that some of us still have
manners, show respect and care about others. Happy Holidays!

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Since women burned their Bras

  1. Him Up North says:

    That’s a great idea. Some people are simply moronic (the guys at the pool?) and won’t “get” it. I think we all have the capacity to be generous of spirit. It doesn’t take much.

    • Actually, there’s a great thing going on here! When some people get coffee in the drive through, they are paying for the person behind too. When they get to the front the coffee is already paid for! I like that!

  2. Him Up North says:

    I’m sorry, did you say Victoria’s Secret….?

  3. I hate it when people use ‘equality’ an excuse just to be lazy, inconsiderate, or rude. Equality and good manners shouldn’t be mutually exclusive, should they? I’d hold the door open for a man, woman or child, and expect the same back – just out of common human courtesy. I’ve just moved out of London and have to admit that people here in Bucks have a squillion times more manners. Had a young lad rush to open a door for me last night when I was struggling with the double buggy in the slushy snow, which was just lovely!!!!

  4. Jennie says:

    When I was pregnant I was amazed by the kind and respectful way I was treated in Pari – given a seat on Metro, served first in a restaurant. I was really made to feel special, so different from my experiences at home x

Leave a Reply

