Not always Happy Holiday’s


One of my Twitter friends is going through a rough time right now.
This has once again reminded me that this is not a good time of year
for everyone! Every year at work we do a secret Santa thing, where you
buy a gift for a person as a surprise. A few of us decided that we
would rather give to charity so instead we asked whoever pulled our
names out, to get a toy and donate to the Toy appeal in the mall
downstairs. One of my colleagues seemed annoyed by this and I couldn’t
understand it. This year my Husband decided to get backpacks and
winterize them for the homeless but again this was opposed by some.
Why on earth would people rather swap a $20 gift that is usually
impersonal and inappropriate, than donate to a good cause..?? The
answer was staring me right in the face.. That was the ONLY gift that
they were going to get! They were not going to have the excitement of
stacking the gifts under the tree, of listening for the excited pitter
patter as they kids check to see if he’s been! Of crowding round the
table packed with far too much food and pulling the obligatory
crackers.. They would be spending the holiday alone!
A lot of you have supported me this week when my Mum’s flight was
cancelled, thank you all for that! As much as I would love to have my
Family with me, I am so fortunate that I will still be celebrating the
holidays with people that love me! There will be gift giving, there
will be laughter, there will be tantrums and indigestion and at the
end of the day I will sit and raise my glass to all of the people out
there for whom this is a difficult, lonely or unhappy time! I wish you
all a prosperous New Year. Thinking of you….

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Not always Happy Holiday’s

  1. I too tend to think of those who are lonely, or missing loved ones, or otherwise struggling this holiday season. It can be a very difficult time.

    I’m glad you’ve got loved ones around and I hope you have a happy holiday.

  2. Great post. The meaning of Christmas is about the sharing. And about families.

Leave a Reply

