The things she did


I’m sure you’ve all heard of the things my Dad said. The guy whose
blog became famous and now even Ellen has a version on her show. Well here’s my version- things my Mum did!
My Mum has an endearing personality. She’s naive and very caring. She is also like a whirlwind! A proverbial Bull in a china shop! It’s a
standing joke that every single time she visits, she breaks something!
Growing up there were Many funny incidents but here are a few of my favourites!
1. I went to pick her up from work. She worked in the frozen food
section in the Market. The freezers went around in a full square. As I
approached I heard screaming and saw a pair of legs sticking out! I
knew straight away that it was her. She’d reached for some sausage and dropped in head first and they couldn’t get her out!
2. We went to Spain on holiday. We went to a packed beach and found a space at the front. I was dubious but she said it would be fine! Suddenly a wave came and took all our belongings and…Mum’s Bikini top!!
3. She was visiting a friend in Hospital who had a Brain Tumour
operated on. She looked at the Doctors name Chuma and started laughing hysterically saying your Doctors name is pronounced Tumour??
4. She took our friend who’d had Brain surgery a box of Celebrations!
5. We were at a Family BBQ. I was sat with Elderly relatives! I saw
some male cousins laughing when Mum walked over, stood in the Middle
and said “what does spanking the Monkey mean?”
I think that’s enough for now..
Anyway needless to say, there is never a dull moment when she’s around and Im so lucky she came to spend Christmas with us! I’m sure I’ll have some more stories for you soon. I wish you all a Happy New Year!

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The things she did

  1. JallieDaddy says:

    So funny: she sounds like a walking sit-com! I can’t get that image out of my head of her legs kicking while sticking out of the shop’s freezer! This I guess that makes sense of your earlier ‘Conversationally Challenged’ post…

    Happy New Year to you too 🙂

  2. Kate says:

    My ex-MIL from way way back was like this. A total, total innocent abroad. Her and her husband moved to a very posh part of Surrey and lived in quite a small place but were surrounded by some HUGE houses. My FIL said one day “that’s where all the filthy rich live” and she said “oh no, Leonard, they’re definitely clean rich. ” I laughed for weeks about it.

  3. Gone Bananas says:

    Aww bless! She sounds like the life of the party! x

Leave a Reply

