The Birds and the Bees


Getting used to your post pregnancy body is difficult. Combine that with complete sleep deprivation, the assortment of body fluids and edible items that now adorn your once sophisticated wardrobe and it’s understandable if intimacy takes a back seat for a while. However I recently read a tweet from a magazine promoting a fun and flirty exercise for parents to do, to I guess, help them get in the mood. Now while I don’t usually comment negatively on anything else that someone promotes, I can’t help vocalizing my thoughts…

The magazine recommended making 2 copies of a picture of your body. The aim is that you both take the time to mark off on the picture your hot spots.. The erogenous zones. You’re supposed to compare them and then discussing it will make it easier to get in the mood..

I don’t think I’m alone when I say that as a new Mum sometimes showering is a luxury.. Between the never ending breastfeeds, the extensive laundry and continuous diaper changes, time is like prime real estate and thats when you have baby number one. When baby number two arrives Toddler decides to get in to your bed every night and baby does what babies do, so when you do get any time with your nearest and dearest it’s a make it count approach. I can just see my hubby’s face if instead of some quality time together, I produced the said photocopy and said, here fill this out! I think he’d roll it up and threaten to shove it where the sun don’t shine! If this works for you, then that’s awesome but I think for most they would prefer to have a baby sitter, an hour out to be wined and dined and reminded that they are not just the cook, cleaner, carer, chauffeur etc. I think old fashioned romance goes a long way towards setting that mood and if date night is not on the cards then you may have to make the best of the good old quickie!

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Birds and the Bees

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Birds and the Bees | yorkshiremumatlarge -- Topsy.com

  2. SisterSister says:

    Fully and wholeheartedly agree, although I cannot comment on baby no.2 as I am awaiting that little bundle of madness.

    I think it is much easier for the daddy to turn off and turn on if you know what I mean.
    If i have had a busy day I can struggle to switch off where as daddy can forget the worst of days if he thinks he is on a promise!

    Wined and dined? whats that? I’d settle for a takeaway followed by a snooze on the settee… I am officially a loser!

  3. jenmum says:

    Totally agree. Can’t imagine anything like that helping me to get in the mood. I’m far too self-conscious of my post-baby body to want to be looking at pictures of it and that definitely wouldn’t help my libido… But good luck to those who do find it helpful.

  4. Yorkshire Mum says:

    Thanks for your comment. I’m glad it’s not just me!

  5. willest says:

    Brilliant post! Really made me smile and I too agree with every word!

Leave a Reply

