Opposites attract


Ok, I have a problem. (just the one I hear you ask) no seriously, can anyone please tell me where do socks go?
Things have got so bad in our house that my husband has asked if we can get a CSI team in to do a formal forensic investigation.
Lets be honest, they all have a mate somewhere? But in our house they seem destined for divorce!
A short time ago I walked in to the bedroom, my husband had laid all his single socks over the edge of the dresser drawer. They were like sad ears or tongues, limply dangling.. Almost grieving.. At first I was angry. How dare he make such a blatant dig at me. From now on he was welcome to do his own laundry! I sulked like a teenager, stomping my feet, chuntering under my breath. Then I took a closer look there were 17 single socks! I can’t actually remember the last time I did a load of washing and the socks matched! If I get 2 matches out of a load I feel like I won the lottery..so perhaps he had a point.
Is this just me this happens to?
I saw a program about organization, a woman suggested only buying identical black socks so you never have to match a pair as they are all the same.. I have employed this new method courtesy of gifts from Santa and I have to say so far so good.. I always have a black pair to put on..
My husband on the other hand.. Not so much. He likes grey with grey, black with black etc..I’m not going to complain as I do love a well dressed man.
I do need to stage some kind of intervention though as when I saw him put his new socks away.. He introduced them to eachother and told them to say a fond farewell as they probably wouldn’t see each other again!
All you super organized peeps out there, please take pity, what can you do to help me keep the socks from mourning their missing counterpart?

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Opposites attract

  1. Sarah says:

    If I put my odd ones with yours we might be able to come up with a couple of pairs πŸ™‚

  2. Mark says:

    When I put the dirty socks in the laundry basked I match them up, find that mostly works! Glad I’m not the only one who talks to clothes though….

  3. Dude – I hear you! This made me giggle. I gave up pairing socks ages ago. LIFE’S TOO SHORT! I didn’t however have the forethought to buy all black, I just wear blatantly odd socks and my hubby’s just as bad! Hope that makes you feel better! x

  4. I feel your pain!

    There isn’t an easy answer: The Devourer of Socks lurks in every kitchen, basement, garage or other place where laundry happens. We just have to rescue as many items as we can and be thankful when we have two of a kind.

    Buying socks in bulk and not being too choosy about what constitutes a “pair” helps too.

  5. Pingback: Tweets that mention Opposites attract | yorkshiremumatlarge -- Topsy.com

  6. Mandi says:

    I reckon there is a planet somewhere in an parallel universe which is entirely populated by socks that have escaped through the time warp in the washing machine waste pipes or the back of laundry baskets.
    (I also have a sneaky feeling that my wristwatch and sunglasses have moved there too.)

  7. Him Up North says:

    If you have one black and one grey sock, doesn’t that mean you will have a matching pair somewhere?? That was the philosophical thought for the day…

  8. HUN one would like to think so, but you can see the reality is quite different. There is something bigger at play!

  9. JallieDaddy says:

    I have a row of single socks exactly like that! Is there a commitment problem in the sock community; a very high divorce rate, lots of absentee parents maybe? For that matter: why are there no baby socks? The mystery deepens…

    My sister said that a washing machine expert (whatever that is) told her that washing machines do actually ‘eat’ socks. But then he might have been pulling her leg. Or her sock, even πŸ™‚

  10. mumof4 says:

    I have a basket – A WHOLE LAUNDRY BASKET of odd socks. Admittedly there are 6 of us – but I very rarely wear socks even! I now always buy 2 pairs of identical socks so maybe at least one matching pair can remain…..

Leave a Reply

