Master of disguise


I wasn’t aware that we were expecting visitors this week, but visitors we have!

It would appear that my daughter’s brain is in creative overdrive! She has insisted that my beautiful daughter is no longer in the building and that we have a new baby! She climbs in to the play pen, moans and whimpers for attention and refuses to eat by herself. She will not go to bed unless someone sleeps with her and screams the place down. Now I’m not one to stifle creativity, but when I actually have a real baby to care for and a 100-1 things to do that need immediate attention, I really don’t have the time to be humoring my big girl! I did try to play along, passing her a rattle etc but after three days I’m finding it a little trying!  Finally I got some respite, phew I thought the baby has gone, oh how I now wish it was back. This morning she has been a dog, a cat and most recently a worm! How on earth do you get your pretend dog to eat her breakfast? She asked me to serve it in a bowl on the kitchen floor! She’ll be asking to be taken for walkies next! If she starts using the litter box I will freak out! I need to get her in her outdoor clothes, exactly how do you get a worm to get dressed?? I had to get her to lay down and wriggle in to her snow coat!

I’m pretty sure she’s craving attention with having a new sister but this is not the easiest phase! The whole house has been fighting the bug from hell since Christmas and energy is at an all time low. Do you have any methods for getting a 3yr old to do what’s required, especially when she’s suddenly the master of disguise? Anyone else got unexpected visitors? Should I be expecting the imaginary friend for dinner shortly?

Sent from my iPad

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Master of disguise

  1. Him Up North says:

    We didn’t have anything like this when our youngest came along, but I’m guessing it is indeed attention craving. I guess you could accentuate the fact that your oldest is THE OLDEST, ie a big girl and can do big girl stuff, unlike her little sister. Make her feel special for being older in other words (not that you don’t make her feel special but you know what I mean)

    Good luck! 🙂

  2. Thanks G, I’m doing all that but I think she’s a bit quirky like her Mommy 🙂

  3. Janette Davey says:

    I am wondering if this is what will happen to my little girl when my new one arrives. Thanks for the insight. Would love to follow your blog but can’t see how to. Am following on Twitter though.

  4. JallieDaddy says:

    Could you maybe play along with her ‘creativity’? Tell her about the ‘worm-coat’ (I think they shed their skins don’t they?) for instance?

    Sounds tough there; we’ve all come down with the latest bug here too, & it’s made getting & keeping Jallie sleeping even tougher than usual.

    Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

