A long stand


This week has been a difficult one. My Mum, best friend, confident and hero has been diagnosed with Cancer. Things are still very fresh and raw, so I’ll blog about it at a later date. Instead I’ve chosen a little light relief and a reminder of how humour helped me through another stressful time in my life!

When I started my training as a Nurse, I was sent to another ward, to ask the Nurse in charge for a Long stand! Yes, they left me stood there for ever!!! I have to admit it was funny and I couldn’t wait to so it to someone else, although I never got the chance. It could have been worse, they sent my colleague for a bottle of Smegma, of course at our tender ages we had no idea what that was! I have no idea what the hysterical Nurse in Charge sent her back with!

As my training went on there were obviously some crazy incidents that occurred, but here are a few of the stories that can still make me laugh!

1. We were in the Emergency room, when a lady came in with a seriously itchy bottom! My student colleague went in with her and on examination, found shoots and leaves protruding from said area! Apparently, she’d ‘slipped’ in the pantry and landed on a potato a while ago! Ok, we believe you!

2. We had a really nasty patient, barking orders, rude to all the staff. She was in a bed with piped oxygen and she kept lighting a cigarette. When she was asked to put it out, she threw her water jug at the nurse. We got her ready for her surgery and noticed she had a tattoo on her pubic line, it said ” keep off the grass” you should have heard her scream, when she got back and the surgeon had written, “sorry had to mow your lawn”! We were hysterical, I’m pretty sure now a days she could sue!

3. One of the team was getting married and in the day center we served lunch. They took all the unserved food and put it in a bath then threw her in! Unfortunately the beetroot died her newly coiffed hair, pink! We had to get a collection together to send her to the salon to have it fixed! She was not happy!

Nursing is a stressful job and I miss it! I have adoration for those still in the profession and thank goodness for those moments of humor in an environment filled with sorrow and distress! We are going to need a lot of positive Energy to get us through these next few weeks and I’m hoping we’ll all be laughing together for many years to come!

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A long stand

  1. newt says:

    Hi Sharon I came across from British Mummy Bloggers.

  2. Him Up North says:

    Great stories. I love number 2 – hilarious and serves the miserable cow right. I can’t abide people who give those caring for them short shrift. Hope things go okay with your mum x

  3. Mandi says:

    It’s great that you can still share smiles at such a tough time. Believe me, that sense of humour is going to be a big help for you and those around you.

    I’m so sorry to hear about your mum. I hope that her prognosis is good and she is able to fight and defeat the beast.
    It’s never easy seeing your heroes (sorry, parents) under attack. I went through the same thing in 2005 when my Dad was diagnosed with cancer of the oesophagus. The toughest for me was – and still is – the fact that I live on the only side of the continent and could not be with him every single day, holding his hand and cracking silly jokes to lighten the mood. On the other hand, I didn’t have to deal with the day-by-day trauma of helping him deal with it. However, both for me and my mum & sister, humour helped us get through it.

    So, keep on smiling, and know that we’re all rooting for your mum.

  4. SisterSister says:

    You are brilliant! x
    very proud of you x

  5. JallieDaddy says:

    Sorry to hear about your Mum.

    Those are great stories; I thought it was doctors who were the crazy ones!

  6. JallieDaddy says:

    Btw my Mum was diagnosed with cancer in the 60s & is still going strong x

  7. Great post, popped over from BMB.

    Thinking of you and your Mum X

  8. I think it is a sign of a true northerner who can find humour in times of strife!

    Hope all goes well for your mum I have watched a few loved ones and a little one fight the big C and it is tough but survivalable (is that a word?)

    Thoughts with you
    x

    • Lord knows I need a good laugh this week! I can tell you just looking in the mirror this week is a laugh itself! Thanks for stopping by, I’ve been reading your blog since I joined Twitter šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

