Incidents


So, I’ve been stressed out recently. My behavior is seriously lacking. My eating and exercise habits require an intervention. Worst of all, my memory is gone!

It started with what I call the incident…I had taken my beautiful Dolly day dream to the doctor. When I returned to the car, it had started to snow and was freezing! I grabbed Dolly and put her in the car, then ran to cgrab baby Bubs and get her out of the snow. I threw the stroller in the back, leapt in and set off! I’d driven a short distance when my Doly said Mummy you’ve forgotten to strap me in! It’s important to be safe! I stopped immediately and dashed around to her side. She was right? Her belt was not fastened. What was I thinking? I fastened her in and she cried. How could you forget me? I begged forgiveness. She said she couldn’t forgive me… Not yet! This was serious! I called my husband, I sobbed down the phone, seeking something.. I’m not sure what! I /we were so lucky that the incident did not get any worse. I know anyone reading this with kids will understand how deeply sorry I was and also how incredibly lucky!

Then when I thought that I had got my act together. Incident number 2 happened! We went to Macdonalds for breakfast. Only the second time ever! We got there right at 11. Which is when they stop serving, so I offered to dash in and see if they could still serve us. I ran in, they could, so I ran back. Grabbed the baby and yelled yes if we’re quick to hubby! We managed our brekkie. It took around a half hour. When we walked out, I thought.. That’s odd! Before I could say anything, hubby said..is that your car that looks like it’s running? I was speechless! A rare occasion, I might add! Not only had I left the keys in the car! I’d left it running! I didn’t know whether to be totally relieved that no one had taken it! Or to be offended that no one wanted it? Of course I’m joking. I was so grateful that it was still there! I was in shock for the rest of the day!

Finally I get to incident number three! We recently went to England for a trip to see family. Things didn’t go as planned and we were very busy coping with bad news and unexpected circumstances. At some point on the trip, I have lost my own car key and the spare for hubby’s car. Plus the spare door key. So please anyone in Huddersfield reading this.. Plead check if you find a set of keys and return them. Hubby tells me his replacement is $300

And so, they say bad things come in 3’s.. Am I now in the clear? Can I blame it on the famous baby brain? Or just plain stress? Either way, I better get my brain into gear before someone gets hurt and I have around 2 weeks until I return to work! Watch out.. Here I come!

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Incidents

  1. Him Up North says:

    These things happen. Sometimes we put them down to “blonde moments”, “senior moments” or “baby brain”. The fact is we’re too harsh on ourselves. Our heads only have so much RAM and to err is very human.

  2. Liska says:

    Hi,
    I’ve had so many incidents, and I return to work exactly 3 weeks today. Can’t bear the thought of leaving my little man 😦
    Liska x
    (hopped here from BMB)

    • Thanks for the solidarity! This is my second time returning to work. It is tough! But needs must. My advice .. I got the babies whole week’s outfits ready? I made dinner on the weekend and froze them for the week.. It took a little pressure off, so I could spend as much time with baby as possible before bed. Hugs

  3. Ah you poor thing.Don’t worry I think it happens to busy Mums occassionally. I went through the same thing last year and had way more than 3 incidents! I actually went to the GP sobbing that I thought I was getting Alzheimers. The GP was so nice and told me I had taken on too much. After a few weeks of delegating and cutting back on my workload everything returned to normal. I think its brain overload! Don’t be so harsh on yourself:)

  4. Jen says:

    You are not alone, since I had both of my kids I feel that my brain .. well.. I dont have one! Memory is gone completely, zero concentration and so on and on and on.. I have tried different supplements from health food stores and brain exercises, no luck so far 😦
    Hopefully once you are at work it will change for you and please let me know if it will!!

  5. alixkite says:

    We all do things like this hun, I have the worst baby brain at the moment and my youngest is coming up to four! I just think as a Mum you have so many things to think about, so much to do and very little time to do it all. Any Mum who says she has never done anything like that is lying! x

  6. do you know what? you need a break. Dump the kids and run to a hotel, I suggest alone except for a book and bubble bath.
    That is my prescription, I have a friend who is doctor, more than one, surely that makes me an expert?

Leave a Reply

