Kamikaze


This week has seen my return to work. I was going to blog about that and the challenges that it brings, but as I’m only on day three, I’ll give it a few more days…

I am going to tell you how challenging it seems to be to get to the office safely! In the year that I have been off nurturing my babes there seems to have been a population explosion and all of those people have two cars each! The only way to describe my journey is as a kamikaze or game of Russian roulette. It all started when I was waiting to make a left turn, yes the filter light was on giving me right of way, however that did not deter the pedestrian from leaping out and making a run for it. So I waited, much to the annoyance of the woman behind me, who would have preferred that I mow down said pedestrian. She leaned on her horn so much And at the first opportunity aggressively screeched past me. I could not contain my anger! I started to chase her down the street! Yes for those that know me, this is out of character. But I was stressed about returning to work and the fact that she would have jeopardized the safety of the pedestrian!  I got close to her and let her see my open the window, I produced my iPhone and took a picture of her license plate and shouted ..that’s for crime stoppers! That took the smug look off her face! Then I realized what I was doing and was ashamed of myself,I had become her! Aggh, so I calmed down. Deleted the pic and drove to work. The fun did not stop there, this is what I encountered. 

Firstly, a  woman with wax strips on her mustache! I kid you not! Now I am fortunate enough to have never required this intervention, but I’m pretty sure it would leave a nasty red mark when she ripped it off? Wouldn’t that be just as visually distracting as the mustache? 

Secondly, a woman using a curling iron! Actually styling her hair while driving on a major road! How could she keep her eye on the road and the mirror that she was doing her hair in? God forbid she dropped the red hot iron in her lap causing a catastrophe!

But my absolute favorite was number three, the guy who was clearly starving as he had his breakfast with him! An actual bowl of cereal! With milk! He was on the 6 lane highway! Granted we were nose to nose and doing no more than 40, but still eating a bowl of cereal whilst driving! It was sliding all over his dashboard! That’s crazy!

So although I’m trying to juggle the house work, the quality time with the kids, and re- establishing myself at work I’m actually just delighted that I’ve survived to tell the tale! Lord knows what Tomorrow will bring… Wish me luck!

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kamikaze

  1. oh my god, all those examples made me gasp! Actually I think wax strip woman mosre so even though she was least dangerous!

  2. Dianne x says:

    I can not stop laughing your post was so funny. I can not believe people would do these things. I hope your day at work went ok. Lets see what tomorrow brings.

    Dianne x

Leave a Reply

