Destination bliss


There is a lot of buzz at work as a couple of the girls are planning  

their nuptuals.! They are going the increasingly popular route of  

destination weddings. I couldn’t help but smile as it reminds me of my  

own day which went something like this…

The sky was an azure blue, blemished by clouds so fluffy it looked  

like you could eat them. I stood at the end of the aisle beneath an  

arch of tropical flowers and as the music started I slowly meandered  

forward. As I came to the steps of the gazebo, I glanced up to check  

my groom hadn’t got cold feet and was shocked. Instead of the female  

minister that I was expecting, there stood a very dark skinned man who  

was sweating profusely. As my Mind took it in, I stepped on my gown  

and couldn’t help pulling a face like I was sucking a sour lemon when  

I heard the ripping sound! Just keep going I thought. Maybe nobody  

noticed! It turns out that our minister was taken ill and they had  

told the groom but didn’t want to worry the bride! The stand in  

arrived around 10 minutes before. No wonder the poor guy was lathered  

it was over 40 degrees!

So I procced and the ceremony gets under way. We start repeating words after  

the minister and I notice my groom is concentrating so hard that he’s  

not looking at me. I’m determined to catch his eye but instead of  

looking loving and enthusiastic, I later see on the video I’m more  

like a nodding dog or bobble head! We get to the exchanging of rings  

and the minster says.. “these rings are a symbol…. Pause……a symbolbolic………pause a  

symbolbolic thing! ” hubby and I are dying to laugh but we keep it  

together and listen to his sermon. We get to the final part when he  

proclaims us Husband and Wife and pronounces us Mr and Mrs.. Big big  

pause while he looks for his piece of paper and cannot say our name so  

he tries it twice! By now we are chuckling away!

We go off to take some pictures on the beach and by a waterfall. When  

we return, he’s gone and so is our wedding cake! We get the wedding  

coordinator on the case and she tracks it down, with a big slice  

missing! Hysterical!

All in all we had an amazing day in St Lucia and honeymoon in St  

Vincent and I wouldn’t change a thing! Although people do tease us and wonder if one day we’ll find out that it wasn’t legal LOL. I can’t wait to here the  

stories from the girls at work!

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Destination bliss

  1. JallieDaddy says:

    Haha – you do have a colourful life don’t you? I think he just wandered in off the street to nick some cake then got spotted so he decided to bluff his way through!

Leave a Reply

