Back to work


Tomorrow is Tuesday and that will mean that we have got through four whole weeks as a family with me back to work. I promised that I’d write about it, so here goes

For those that know me on an up close and personal basis, I am a worrier… I am also prone to a little exaggeration sprinkled with some dramatic tendencies! So as the time to go back to work approached I was anxious to say the least. Not for myself, although there was the subject of my sudden and increasing lack of brain power, but mainly for my beautiful Bubalicious baby. For the majority of my 12 month mat leave Bubs had been with me 24/7. How was she going to manage? Now I know that I am extremely fortunate as for the most part my child care is with family and that although things may be done slightly differently, my baby or girls are loved! 

The one piece that had me in a pickle is that in order for my MIL to assist me with my child care she has to be able to utilize the child care center at the local gym and that’s where my overactive imagination comes in to play, now that a third party has been introduced especially as they do not have to be qualified child care providers and to say that this gets my knickers in a knot is an understatement. The other thing that had me wringing my hands is that even though Bubs is trying to wean herself from Mummy, MIL will not allow her to have her blankie! We’ve tried every way around this discussion, but there is no flexibility. As the alternate child care arrangements are out of the question right now. We’ve all had to try to grin and bear it! Anyway I’m pleased to report that although the start was a little rocky, Bubs is settling in and her fussing and crying is down to less than 3 mins a day. Which is such a relief as my heart was breaking. I know a number of the blog readers are returning to work shortly so here are my tips to assist with the transition

1. If possible try to get baby to have periods of time where you are not around. Even if it’s for an hour at first

2. Try to take baby to see the new environment on several occasions before the big day arrives

3. Organization. I have 2 girls under 3.5 so on a Sunday evening I get 5 outfits out each and have them lined up for the week

4. Prepare some meals.  I had meals prepared and then only had to warm them through when I got home. Ensuring I spent every second I could with the girls and not cooking in the kitchen

5. Pack your own bag the night before and lay out your clothes including undies. As you don’t want to wake everyone by ferreting around in your drawers for clean smalls

6. On day one, get up around 30minutes earlier than you think you need. As it’s going to take a bit of practice to get everyone up and out of the house on time

7. Try to remind yourself that you’re not a bad person and that millions of kids have survived and been totally well adjusted when their Mum’s had to work! It’s all going to be fine!

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Back to work

  1. Liz Dawes says:

    It’s so clear how much you love your kids and that’s all they need. Transitions like this are always hard, but just take it a step at a time and you’ll be fine.

  2. SisterSister says:

    You are doing a great job. You are a worrier. but it is because you care x
    Miss you so much.

Leave a Reply

