People watching


I have seen the strangest sight this last few weeks. On my return journey from dropping my daughters off in the morning, I am regularly at a red traffic light when, I witness a lady walking to… Who knows where? I have to admit, this lady has me intrigued. Let me describe the scene, she is walking down a very busy road. Her hair, is recently coiffed, highlights glisten in the sun and the seriously layered do is blow dried to perfection! She has taken the care to apply some make up.. Not too much. Just enough to enhance her beauty. She wears a spotless black rain coat, synched in with a belt. It looks recently pressed, almost stiff! She has an interesting gait and seems to be finding walking difficult. Then I notice that she has the exact same pants on, every day. Black, pin stripe, but they always have a serious salt stain, you know that horrible white ring you get on your winter boots! She has this stain about a third of the way up both legs..every day! So I’m wondering, does she only have one pair of pants? Also we haven’t had snow for weeks, when did they last get washed? Finally I spot her shoes.. They have several holes in them and are clearly the cause of her mobility issues. What is the story? Is she homeless and managing to keep down a job? She clearly takes pride in her appearance with her hair recently cut etc, but why the pants and shoes in tatters.. What would you do? Offer her some shoes? Get her another pair of pants. I can’t stop thinking about this lady..does she have no one to look after her?

I realized while deliberating over this, that I am a chronic people watcher. Before I returned to work, I used to see an older man three times a week waiting for a bus. Where did he go at the same time each day? One theory was that he was visiting a sick relative or his wife in a care home. Everyday we exchanged pleasantries and I was just plucking up the courage to enquire where he goes, when I returned to work and no longer run in to him. I have to say, I miss his cheery face and hope that where ever he goes it makes him as happy as it did for us to have a little chat and a wave with him every morning! We take so many little things for granted, a little wave or smile can make your day. It’s the small things that make a difference! 

Finally, we are big sports fans! Anything from hockey, footie, basketball, lacrosse and for the summer baseball. I started watching baseball to relax, it’s a much slower sport than my usual preferences, but I find it calming. Since I started watching the bluejays, around 5 years ago I couldn’t help but notice that in the most expensive season seats was an older couple, theybsit right behind the home plate so they are in camera shot the whole time And the couple are at nearly every home game! It’s like they are part of the fixtures and fittings. I’ve seen them so often it feels like I know them! Obviously I don’t. When the game is super slow, i can’t help watching them. I guess it’s like those that watch big brother? She always gets the biggest thing of popcorn and he clearly adores her! However on this years season opener it was just the lady with some other people, and although I haven’t seen many games this season, I’m yet to see her other half. My over active imagination is obviously thinking the worst. What on earth is making feel attached to a little old guy that goes to watch baseball? I  hope that I’m wrong and will keep watching to see the lovely couple who clearly love each other as much as their love for the sport..

Am I the only person fascinated by other people? Who intrigues you? What do you see on the way to work?

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to People watching

  1. Him Up North says:

    All the real weirdos are on Twitter. Present company excepted of course… 🙂

  2. fayC says:

    I have a bus stop outside my house and see the same people at the same time.

    Last summer I had a new alarm clock, a neighbour who had an annoying little cough that probably didn’t affect him. It bloody did me!!

    We also had a grumpy looking man, who just stood there, doing nothing, saying nothing, no eye contact with anyone while he waited. How surprised was I when one day going out to the car with hubby they greeted each other. They had gotten chatting one day and were now on good nodding terms, who’d have thought it!

  3. LOL, now that’s what I call people watching. None of us know what goes on behind closed doors do we.

    CJ xx

  4. mumof4 says:

    Great descriptions. Love the post!

  5. Madison says:

    A Lady after my own heart. I liked nothing better than to sit in a restaurant/ cafe and just watch people go by before my son was born. Sometimes maybe listening in on a few conversations (i’m not nosey honest). Luckliy my son has inherited the same trait and we both enjoy sitting in the M&S cafe (it’s the brightest one in our town, much better for people watching) and people watching. Him watching the people and me watching him watching people.

    Before I had my son I use to take the bus to work and there was always an older man at the bus stop. For a several months we’d nod and smile until one day we started chatting. And I am so glad we did. It turned out he lived on our street and he was a refugee from Zimbabwe. He’s such a lovely gentleman and would tell me stories of what he and his family went through. I learned more from him than I did from the news. One day he’d gone to a “conference” at the NEC to meet other Zimbabwe refugees and whilst in a crowd he literally bumped into his cousin whom he thought had been killed. He was able to find a whole branch of his family alive and well. I must admit I did shed a tear on the bus that morning.

Leave a Reply

