My Mum is a friend who is always there.

A constant source of attention and care.

She seems to know just what to say, what to do.

Instinctively knowing if I’m feeling blue.

Earlier this year she gave me a scare.

In the fight for her life.

A new burden to bear.

Watching her scared,

was terrible to see.

I’d have taken the pain,

just like she’d do for me.

She’s had to be strong.

Even more than before.

When the dreaded big ‘C’,

came right to her door.

No more cleaning or cooking,

No more games to be played.

As she fought in the battle,

from the bed where she laid.

It’s mothers day now,

a day filled with love and relief

As we Learn that she’s kicked

The big ‘C’ in the teeth!

With the help of a team,

Plus great family and friends

For once there’s a story

With a happy end!

Happy Mother’s Day Mum! We are so proud of you! Thanks for the love and the laughter and here’s to a very, very, long ever after!

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to

  1. Him Up North says:

    I’m stunned… I have no words. Brilliant is the best I can muster.

  2. mummy me says:

    im the luckiest mummy around with three beautiful kids all of them are so special xxxx

  3. I am thrilled for you Mum and your family. Great news šŸ™‚

  4. Brilliant! Your poetry skills are fine, and I’m so glad your story had a happy end! I hope you enjoy many, many more joyful years with your mum.

Leave a Reply

