Should they stay or should they go..


I have always been passionate about animals. I guess that’s one of the things that prompted me to become a vegetarian at the age of 13. many years later I still love animals but I’m no longer radical in my view point and can see other opinions, without seeing red. I guess that’s called growing up. When I moved to Toronto I was offered to go on a trip to the local zoo.. I quickly declined having stayed away from animals in captivity for several years. Since then I learned about the amazing work that they were doing at the zoo and how seriously they take the health and safety of the animals and the patrons. They have an incredible veterinary staff, nutritionist and dedicated keepers. With all this in mind and the research that is going on around endangered species a couple of years ago, I became a member. This also coincided with the birth of my first daughter. I wanted to share the knowledge and the wonder of seeing animals that she wouldn’t normally get to appreciate. In recent months the Toronto zoo has been front and center in the media as they have had to bring a consultant in to look at the health of the Elephants. There has been a series of recent deaths and the bottom line is the suggestion is it’s too cold in Toronto. Now I’m no Consultant and my family and I have been regular visitors to the Toronto Zoo to marvel at these amazing creatures but it regularly drops to minus 20 something in the winter and even I can see quickly that this would be problematic for these African natives. So we find ourselves watching and waiting to see the fate of our beloved Elephants, will the public out cry to keep them as part of the fixtures and fittings be met or will some of the board members get their wish and send the unhappy trio off to a sanctuary in California where they can while away their hours in some sunshine and with lots of space to roam..I guess we’ll see.. Either way, we have really enjoyed seeing those majestic creatures and although sad to see them go, if it’s better for them then we are on board.

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

