Fragile life


Today I was reminded about the fragility of life. The day started out with it’s usual chaos. A frantic shower, hopping in to stockings, scraping baby food off hard and soft surfaces. Kisses on several foreheads before a battle with the masses down the highway. Arrival at work, endless phone calls before I made a run for it to the subway. A short journey, nothing spectacular. I stroll off at the other side, heels tapping along, scanning for a sign and then I hear it. Three little words….. “someone help me”. I would expect to see people dashing to assist, but no. No one moved. There was a young girl, small in stature trying to hold up an enormous man. I take a step forward his colour goes and the eyes roll back in his head. I slide in behind him, not an easy task with a 6th 3″ 300lb man. I cradle him and we ease to the floor. He claws at his neck, sucking for air. I hold his hand, talk to him, tell him to hang in there. The young girl has disappeared and I’m surrounded by a group of people watching, waiting, all shouting advice. Don’t lie him down. Don’t scare him. Don’t move him. I don’t see any of them on the floor trying to help. He stops breathing, I quickly check for a medic alert bracelet, the shock of my pulling apart his collar makes him jump. Thank god he’s breathing again. I ask, can he say his name. Nothing. He clutches at his arm, again trying to suck in any air. We are told help is on it’s way. He stops breathing again, I stroke his face and tell him, “I know you can hear me” ” I need you to breathe” I’m just about to lay him down to start CPR and he takes a big breath. Thank god. The police arrive, along with a subway personnel person who starts taking statements. All the time, I’m reminding this stranger in crisis that help is coming and he needs to breathe. Again he stops, we seem to have a pattern going, I squeeze his hand and go to check his pulse. He jumps again, another kick start.. His eyes are open. I try to reassure him. “i know you can hear me. Just breathe” I’m asked by the police what has happened so far. I give my account and people have taken over. He’s still breathing and the Emergency Services are coming. I have to steal myself away. I’m shaking, walking along. Trying to make it to my final job interview, seeing his face the whole way. Someone’s Dad, Son, Brother. Whoever you are, I hope I did enough, I hope you made it, I hope that it’s not just me that gets to tell the story. Remember my words, just breathe!

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fragile life

  1. Oh god how scary, it sounds like you did an amazing job. I don’t know that I would have known what to do, I have been meaning to do a first aid course for a while actually but reading this has given me the push to sort it out x

  2. Wow, that post packs a punch! It’s good to stop and take stock every now and then. Thank you.

  3. Gosh that sounds like it was frightening- sometimes it is good to take a step back and look at how lucky we are to be healthy.
    I found you via Britmums new to blogging group- am following you now. 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

