Linguistics


Listening to the radio this morning, I was literally laughing out loud as they discussed words that they like or dislike! Apparently the host is particularly bothered by Winkie and Penis.. That got me thinking about words that I like. Let’s face it some are really fun to say. My brief introduction to the German language brought me to the word Kugelschreiber, I just loved saying it! Im afraid it isn’t anything exciting and the translation is ball point pen! When I met my hubby one of his favorite words was Bok Choy which he of course says with the appropriate accent. 
Some of my other favorites are:
Flibbertigibbet
Facetious
Ostentatious
Haematoma
On the flip side of this, I find there are words that I really dislike and some actually cause a physical reaction. I know I’m quirky( I prefer that to weird). Here is my hit list of words I do not like to say:
Chug (I cannot swallow if this word is used)
Phlegm (it sounds as nasty as the substance)
Mucous ( do I need to explain?)

Vocabulary is amazing, I love the diversity. How about you? 

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Linguistics

  1. mummy me says:

    remember .sunday afternoons , my favourite was applr struddle, lol xxxxxx and then on makeup,

  2. mummy me says:

    oops apple,

  3. Madison says:

    I can’t say the word “burglar” or “burglary”. I get all tongue tied and I end up struggling to say it. I don’t know why, I just do.

    I like saying the word “murder”. Not because of any macabre tendencies. But because with my Scottish accent it sounds good. “There’s been a murder!” Oh and on the same vein “Hoots mon, there’s a moose loose aboot this hoose!”

Leave a Reply

