I have an accent!


Being born and raised in England it should be no surprise that it is often top of mind. While I don’t expect everyone to champion my birth place. I do at least expect them to have heard of it! Is that unrealistic?

Yesterday I went to the local post office to mail a package. I informed the girl behind the counter that I would like to send it to England! No problem she had replied but then proceeded to tell me the postal code was incorrect. Mmmm I thought, maybe it’s just my writing. So, I took a look and read it out. She said that’s what she had but it was invalid. I was informed that it must be letter, number, letter. It can’t be said I,Thinking surely in the short time I’ve been living oversees they haven’t completely changed the system.. I stayed calm and explained that the first two letters of the post code were for the Town that I was born, in England. She reiterated that it was not correct. By this time I was feeling stupid. How could I be getting it wrong? The people in the line were starting to stare. So I asked if they had Internet as I could quickly look up the British mail postal code finder and check my code for England! She said I didn’t need the Internet as they had phone books with the codes in. I was shocked, I Enquired.. Phone books in Toronto, for England postal codes. She said of course I must mean England near Hamilton! People, Hamilton is a city around an hour from Toronto. By this time I was seriously frustrated, but again tried to stay calm. I’m pretty sure I was failing as my facial expressions and body language gave me away! I took a deep breath and said, England is a Country! Oh, you mean like London, she replied. Oh, good lord! Now the tricky bit is there is a London over here, a couple of hours from Toronto. So I now figured that she was meaning London, Ontario. London in England is a city and England is the Country I kindly informed and asked her to please try my code again, for England! Surprise, surprise she did and it was correct!

The moral is, Yes I am aware I have an accent, yes it’s an English one! No, as a professional recruiter I did not ask for her resume for customer service roles LOL, yes, I completely agree that either I’ll be old and grey or my new nephew could be at school before he gets his gift which is probaly traveling by pigeon to England via Hamilton and London, Ontario!

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I have an accent!

  1. sister sister says:

    you crack me up x

  2. Madison says:

    LOL. I had a big chuckle at your post, over my morning coffee.

    Madison xxx

    ps in England (the country)

  3. Mark R says:

    I haven’t laughed so much in ages! Irony is i just posted a ton of letters to Canada day…with no problems I may add πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

