Random acts of kindness


Random acts of kindness

Sometimes the smallest things can restore your faith in human nature. 

I recently went to my local pharmacy and bought necessities, diapers, formula, etc. This essential list cost me $100 and made quite a pile of shopping. I used my debit card to pay. I rarely carry cash these days! When I asked the cashier if I could have a bag. She told me it was 5cents. I only had my debit card and wasn’t about to pay the fee for 5cents. I took a deep breath and was just about to say, “why didn’t you ask me if I wanted a bag for 5cents before you processed my transaction?” before could get the words out, the guy behind me piped up. He said, ” she just spent 100dollars and you can’t give her a bag?”. Then before the cashier could answer he gave her 5cents and told me it was the easiest gift he’d given for a while. Now it was only 5cents but I was so grateful and left the store with a bag and a big grin on my face!

Later that week I took my daughter for ice cream. We had just started to eat it when I got a call and we needed to leave the shop. I tried to approach the counter, but the line was now huge. (the ice cream is worth it). I waited patiently, but needed to leave. My daughter started to fuss and I reminded her we would leave as soon as I could get lids for our tubs of ice cream. The woman at the counter shouted whose next and out of nowhere a man said before you serve anyone, this lady needs lids for her ice cream. I was again so shocked. Something very small, but greatly appreciated. I gave him my best shocked but grateful grin and we were able to leave.

Finally, I was going through the drive through for a coffee shop. I placed my order for a large tea and when I got to the window I was told the guy in front had paid for my drink. I was astounded. Granted, it was only 1.50, but honestly felt great. I had a big smile on my face to start the day and I couldn’t resist leaving the money for my tea, for the next person to approach the window! 

Let’s start a movement.. What random act of kindness can you do today?

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Random acts of kindness

  1. sister sister says:

    It helps to be attractive like you hun x lol

    Miss u x

  2. Madison says:

    What lovely stories.

Leave a Reply

