Tolerance


This week I was going to write about how ashamed I am of the situation in England with the rioting and looting. On further reflection I think I’ll take a pass as it is on every news channel and a number of blogs have already covered it. So what to talk about..

Well I can tell you that as I get older my tolerance levels seem to be reducing. I went to the salon recently and the news was focussing on the shocking events in Norway where a gun man had killed multiple people at a youth camp! I sat, eyes peeled to the station, trying to absorb what I was seeing and trying to make any sense of it when a girl that worked there picked up a copy of the sex in the city book and asked me how I felt that the show was over. Before I could answer, she apologized for getting choked up.. Her eyes started to water and she stated that she couldn’t believe it was over and no idea what she was going to do..

Are you kidding me? I couldnt help myself, I actually let out a little snicker. She said wasn’t I upset? Ermmmm Let’s put that in to perspective.. I am watching the news where young people have been gunned down, gone for ever and you want me to cry over sex and the city?.

Lucky for me it was time for my hair to be washed so I need say no more!

Later that same appointment I found out something else. Let me start by saying, I am an animal lover. I am a vegetarian, I’ve had. Cats, dogs, donkeys, birds, fish and my dad lives on a farm..

Where am I going with this, well.. I cannot get my head around people that dress up their pets! Not those that put coats on dogs, that is responsible, particularly if the temperature drops to minus 30! But those that dress them up like dolls! What is that about? Where is the dignity? It turns out this same person, not only dresses up their toy dog, but also takes it shopping to the mall in a stroller! I jest you not! What the heck is going on? All I can say is.. Get a life!

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tolerance

  1. Mandi M says:

    I think I’ve found my kindred spirit lurking on your blog. You have just expressed several of my own reactions to things I see and hear around me. Unfortunately, I have the kind of face that immediately shows what’s going through my mind when I come across them – even if I said nothing, the eyes would boggle and my jaw would drop if I had heard that Sex and the City conversation – especially on the day of the massacre in Norway.

    I’m also a veggy, and I love animals. But I HATE this babying and dressing up of pets.
    For a start, I think it indicates a serious lack of maturity (or even intellect?) in the owners, but also the total absence of respect for the nature of the animal, which is after all…. animal.
    And when I see little lap dogs being carried around in handbags, I secretly send out psychic vibes to the poor pooch denied the opportunity to use its legs to screw up its face and take a good old poop in the bag!

    I s’pose that makes me a bad person, doesn’t it? Oh well. Whatever.

  2. Madison says:

    With you on both counts. Like SATC is the be all and end all. Plus stupid dog outfits really get on my boobies. It infuriates me to see dogs dressed in stupid pink dresses with diamante. Paris Hilton, I’m talking about you!

    Madison xxx

Leave a Reply

