Freckles


As I become a little longer in the tooth, I’m trying to be more vigilant about regular health checks. Annual checks with legs akimbo, monthly calendar reminders to check the girls and being of English /Irish descent, spot checks on the dot to dots scattered across my arms. It seems these days ever facet of my network are facing the ‘C’ word. Most of my friends, colleagues and family know someone battling the dreadful disease. 

While at work this week, I was trying to focus on my third meeting of the day, which happened to be via teleconference and I’m ashamed to say I drifted off for a second and started looking at my freckles, a little like 101 Dalmatians on a much smaller scale! I started with my right arm and with careful examination, found no change!
Out of the corner of my eye, I saw a raised area on my left forearm, tiny.. But significant! That wasn’t there last week I thought! I know we’ve had a hot summer but I used sun block and covered up. Gone are my days of 10hrs on a beach until I crisp up like bacon! I went in for a closer look and as I ran my fingers over it moved! My heart was beating so fast, I was breathing quickly and on the verge of panic, and then I managed to pinch it between thumb and figure and with massive relief identified it to be a SOY SAUCE covered grain of FRIED RICE! Please understand I am not making light of this important topic, but can not express how grateful I was to remove it from my cluster of distinguishing marks! This of course did prompt some reflection..
Note to self:
1. Review eating habits! “how did said grain end up on arm?”
2. Get eyes tested! Not a good sign that grain of rice can be mistaken for Melanoma!
3. Must focus on task at hand, drifting off on call leads to paranoia!

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Freckles

  1. Him Up North says:

    I’d add “review personal hygiene habits” to that list… pmsl!

Leave a Reply

