Curvaceous


Is it wrong to want to tell a shop assistant to pick an eye for me to poke her in it? Let me explain. Growing up I never had to worry about my weight like some of my friends. In fact until I was 30, I could pretty much eat what ever I wanted without showing it. 

All that changed when driving to work I had a life changing accident on the motorway. I crushed two discs in my back and had physio for over 6 months. Being immobile for so long ensured those pounds packed on like a tyre round the middle. All in all over a 12 month period i put on about 35lbs! A few of which I’ve been trying to lose ever since! Back injuries tend to limit the exercise regime. While I appreciate that I am certainly not obese, I will never again pass as skinny and have grown quite fond of my curves!

Dolly day dream, is starting ballet this week. For her birthday we wanted to get her the outfit! I got the leotard and slippers no problem and went on a search for the skirt. Finally I found it. At a ridiculous price I may add! I was trying to work out the sizing when a friendly assistant approached me. I told her how big Dolly was. I picked up a skirt that seemed perfect. The assistant assured me it would not fit. I was puzzled. She said they could be snug and instead of the appropriate skirt according to the chart, she went up 2 sizes! It looked enormous. I stood negotiating with this woman who was around 5ft tall and 100lbs. She was insisting I’d need a bigger size, then she looked me up and down! With a nod and a knowing look! I’m almost 5ft 8 and curvy. I suddenly realized she was judging my daughter on my curves! I was so angry, I walked over to the chart and explained that at 3ft 3 and 33lbs, there was nothing curvy about Dolly, that if she would check the chart she’d see the size I picked was perfect! I took what I wanted as It was my last chance, but I was soooo not happy! Never before I had I experienced discrimination about weight. Could I lose a pound around the middle… Absolutely, but as a UK size 12 or a Canadian 8, I hardly feel like a candidate for the biggest loser, contrary to how she made me feel! Now if I experienced this, how bad can it be for anyone who may be even more curvaceous? We are all different shapes and sizes. There is pretty much always going to be someone, smaller or bigger, faster or slower, perceived smarter or cuter. Let’s get back to basics people, treat people how you would like to be treated, it’s that simple!

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Curvaceous

  1. Him Up North says:

    You? Curvaceous? I’d never noticed. Now you come to mention it, oh yeah… 😉

  2. mummy me says:

    you tell them my .girl xxx

Leave a Reply

