Know what you need?


I’ve not eaten meat for a long time! (not a Euphemism!)

When I first became a vegetarian my Dad was appalled. Every time I had an ache or a pain, a cough or a cold he would leap in.. “you know what you need?” go on enlighten me I’d think, while dreaming of a soft bed, bowls of ice cream and tissues with balm! His answer was always the same, a nice juicy burger, a big tender steak or just plain MEAT. It apparently was the cure for all!

These days things have changed a little. I’ve been really, really busy lately. There are no hours in the day left to take care of me. I’ve had numerous aches and pains, minor ailment but being stressed out is taking its toll. The new voice aka ‘hubby’ pipes up.. ” you know what you need?” seriously I’m thinking, have you been talking to my dad? But definitely not is the answer, for instead of my usual steak or burger comment hubby takes the meat to a whole new level if you know what I mean! apparently sex, and it’s related fluid is a cure for everything! Sore throat.. “know what you need?”, dry skin, “know what you need!” stomach ache, headache, you name it.. “know what you need!”

Right now I know exactly what I need, I need some sunshine on my face, to go to a place where time does not march on at an insane pace, to not have to cook for a week, or do laundry. To have the children do as they are asked the first time. To not answer the same question over and over and over again at work and to have enough energy so that when hubby pipes up with his “you know what you need?” I can enthusiastically reply bring it on! One can dream, and in the mean time I’ll keep chewing my rescue remedy gum!

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

