Crying wolf


Yesterday I picked up my beautiful daughter at school to find her face was covered in red permanent marker! She’s 4 and just started Junior Kindergarten. She looked upset and when I calmly asked her about it, she told me an encounter where she seemed visibly scared. Apparently one of the senior kindergarten kids had held her and drawn all over her face. She shouted for help and by the time the teacher got to them it was too late. The child with the marker still reluctant to give it up also drew on the teacher!
I tried to remain calm, and asked if she drew on anyone herself. I got a firm no. I Enquired why this child might have done this and was told she laughed and thought it funny. I asked where the teachers were and we then talked about actions for handling similar situations.
I had met the Mum of the child with the marker before, so i sent a light hearted email, about kids being kids and a one sided story but did she know anything about it.
I also sent a note to the teacher to make sure it was just child’s play and not bullying. 
A friend recommended the only way to get it off was Mr Clean magic eraser! I used the very edge and was relieved it wiped away, no rubbing required. Then came a new issue as the chemicals in the cleaner started burning her face! There is no warning on the box, and I just didn’t think! I immediately rinsed it all away and luckily there is no serious damage! Be warned do not use on the skin!
So this morning i sent her off to school with the note. Imagine my stunned silence when the teacher called me to say she had witnessed my gorgeous 4 year old, in front of the mirror, applying said marker as make-up! Applying it, to herself! I was speechless! Only this weekend we were saying how proud we were that she always tells the truth even if she’s made a wrong choice or been naughty! Little did we know this would rear its head this week!
so we have spent this evening talking about telling the truth. Stories about crying wolf and getting her friend in to trouble for something that she did herself. The final message has been that she can always tell us, no matter what it is that she’s done and even if we get a little upset and she has some consequences we will always love her 100%

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

