24hrs


On my way to drop off Bubs, she started to cough. I immediately jump to conclusions.. What has she shoved in her mouth this time? I hope it isn’t stuck. She tells me she’s just coughing and then the projectile vomit starts! I’m stuck in a line of traffic as she performs her own version of a Jackson Pollock painting, all over the back seats! I slammed on the brakes, hazards on, and launched myself around the car to make sure she’s breathing. Inconsiderate tossers behind me, started to lean on their horns! It’s a good job I was concentrating on Bubs or there may have been some obscenities yelled! I managed to get her to Nana day care and she was suddenly fine. One strip wash later and a fresh set of clothes and she was back to her bundle of energy.
I raced home, battled through an insane day of meetings, additional resource requests, spreadsheets etc until it was time to pick up Dolly from school. Got her in the car under duress and set off back on the 30 minute drive to get Bubs, who having been fine all day was now spiking a fever! Picked her up, weaves my way through traffic, threw some pasta together for dinner, folded the laundry, packed the lunch and got the clothes out for today. I got in to bed early, watched a little TV and crashed to sleep, absolutely exhausted. It felt like I’d been asleep for 3 minutes when Bubs was up. Hot enough to fry eggs, I spent nearly 2 hours cooling her down and making her comfortable enough to go back to sleep. My head sunk into the pillow just as the friendly neighborhood wood pigeon started to coo! Vegetarian or not, if its there tomorrow i’m shooting it! Finally he shut up when a truck decided to settle itself outside my house and idle for 30 minutes. It felt like it was vibrating through my skull and stopped just in time for my alarm! When i started again with the dash to school and day care, a cacophony of requests and meetings a diversion to the pharmacy, collection of the tiny ones, dinner, pack up and prep for today, So forgive me if I have nothing informative or humorous to say today, I am a little knackered… Good night!

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

