All about me!


As an only child growing up it was often, all about me! Even when my Dad left, Mum seemed to work twice as hard to make it up to me and again it was all about me! It wasn’t until well into my 20’s that I actually started to notice and feel uneasy with this revelation that I was often the center of attention and enabled to do or be whatever.. Which may have attributed to my running off and hating big groups of people!
Things changed when I ‘grew up’, and moved to Canada! I joined Twitter a year ago as I was battling a mild case of post natal depression and I was feeling isolated. I met many great people. Many acquaintances, and some who I now would count as friends!
More recently we have been going through a bit of a health crisis in my family. Some of you know that My amazing Mum is on treatment number 5 in her aim to kick Cancer’s arse. My husband has been diagnosed with a chronic illness with constant pain. The whole family has had the flu and on a milder scale I am struggling with Anemia.
As I have become increasingly exhausted I’ve noticed over the last couple of months I’ve caught myself saying how rough I am having it. How tired am. How overwhelmed am and truthfully I’m pretty sure I’ve been saying I, far too much and generally.. Wallowing!
One of the friends I made on Twitter recently un-followed me. I was shocked, stunned. Apparently I’m not chatting enough. Well hello, I’ve a lot going on.. read above! I don’t think I’ve been dumped for over 25 years lol and suddenly felt like I was in high school and was last picked for a team event. but once I calmed down I realized, their Twitter their rules. It is definitely not all about me! It took something small like this to remind me, humble me and sit back and remind myself how lucky I am. It is Mum that has Cancer, not me. It is hubby that has chronic pain not me. So I am thankful for the kick up the butt and the dumping! I’m stepping it up, out of the wallowing.. Onwards and upwards!

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to All about me!

  1. Mike says:

    Their loss 🙂 You’re awesome and anyone who
    Can’t appreciate the full plate you have, don’t bother with them. Chin up, doll!

    • Aww thanks Mike, my proverbial pecker is indeed up! I am still good friends with the person just not on Twitter. They try to be a great support for me, so it’s not a huge deal lol.

  2. markukleaf says:

    I agree with Mike. Though you may have been thinking of yourself of late, you have always been there for me. Also I would say with all the crap you and your family have been through lately then you shouldn’t feel bad about thinking that way. You wouldn’t be human otherwise 🙂

Leave a Reply

