Vanity insanity


 

I was talking to a friend today who has applied for a secondment oversees. The thing she is most worried about… Is not about safety, or doing a good job, or missing home, but who will do her eyebrows!

Now this may seem trivial to some, but to her it is a massive deal. She fights her body image demons on a daily basis and the Uni-brow causes her such anxiety that this is a major concern for this potential opportunity.

It got me thinking how many of us are self conscious about things that others wouldn’t even notice.

Personally I think her brows look awesome. I’ve never noticed an issue as I see a super pretty face and a great personality, brows just don’t get a look in.

For me personally, I have a raised scar in the center of my forehead, it’s not that big. But I’ve always felt that it’s the first thing people see. I was shocked to have a couple of people ask me.. What scar?

Another friend worries about muffin top, she’s a size 2! Not a muffin insight! Another about his flat butt! It seems the image concerns are across both genders!

It makes me sad that we are bombarded with images of supposed perfection on TV, in mags and on billboards! Photos of ‘beauty’ rammed down our throats!

We need to start to embrace those bits that make us unique, that separate us from one and other!

I’m going to start with making a conscious effort to not cover up my scar! What are you going to do?
About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

