Pluck it


So, as you may or perhaps may not know.. I’m a vegetarian! I however do feed meat to my family as I believe they should choose for themselves when they are older. I thought that the questions would come much later, but My eldest daughter is 4, going on 54! She shocked me this week, when at the dinner table she stated.. “erm, you know there are two types of chicken. The one at the farm, and the one that we eat!” definitely not ready to have that conversation yet. I replied.. “is that right?!” and lucky for me nothing else was said.
Today’s she decided to take it to a whole new level when she decided to tell me. “you know there is actually only one kind of chicken!” I stuck with my theme trying to stay calm, “is that right?!”
“oh, yes” she stated. “they pull out all the feathers until the chicken is naked, they chop it all up in to little pieces and cook it until we eat it all up!” my reply.. Still trying not to get in to why I don’t eat meat.. ” interesting, thanks for telling me!
I couldn’t tell her, there are two types of chicken! The bird and the cowardly mummy!

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

