Cupcakes and chaos


This week I was nervous. I had planned a birthday party for dolly and had not received many replies. I put down 100 dollars deposit and five days before had only heard from six of the families.
My worst nightmare was coming true. I had moved to another Country and finding it hard enough to make friends myself, I was facing the reality that my beautiful 5 yr old didn’t have any either.
To my relief we got a couple more replies and I was feeling a bit more relaxed on our way to the venue.
The party started at 10am, by 10.15 only four kids were there and two of them were mine!
My heart started to palate! My palms were getting clammy. The owner of the place didn’t help when she chirped in that people were usually there by then!
Dolly didn’t seem to notice, she was having a great time on the bouncy castle!
Then all of a sudden people started to arrive! The relief.. I think people could feel the tension draining from me!
14 kids including some that did not RSVP, bounced, ran, slid, rolled, dove and ate!
About an hour in, one of the kids said.. “I’ll take my loot bag now!” pardon me… I thought. I politely asked if she was leaving? I got a no, I just want to make sure I get it! Wow, I was a little taken back, but reassured her that she would get one for sure.
When they lined up to leave, she was first in the queue! She took her bag ripped it open and spread it all out on the table! I nearly died of embarrassment. I thought I’d made decent bags but hubby had rained on my parade and told me they looked a bit cheapy! I held my breath and tried not to panic.. Thinking please don’t let this 6 yr old shout how crap she thinks my party bag is. Luckily for me she grinned and stuffed it all back in. She walked over and I thought bless, she’s going to thank me… But no.. She assertively said.. Can I take home the left over cake?!
I was so shocked I laughed out loud. Ermmm no you can’t take home my daughters cake lol you just had a massive piece!
Ten minutes after the party ended, still one little girl was waiting for her Mum, 20 minutes, still waiting, 30 minutes.. Still waiting… Finally 40 minutes late this woman shows up! Is it just me or is that unacceptable? In these play gyms you get charged per fifteen minutes that you go over! That meant I had to go wait outside with a poor five year old who wondered if their mum was coming back!
I can’t get over how people still surprise me! All in all we had an awesome time, despite the non repliers, the gate rashers and the tardiness lol

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

