Waiting game


Waiting game

I turn on my computer, waiting for a sign
Hoping to get a message
From friends and family on line
The seconds turn to minutes
Eventually to hours
I cross my fingers, hold my breath
And pray to all the powers
There has to be some news
This can not be the end
Of my heart, my soul, my mentor
My mummy, my friend
My heart beats like a steam train,
Plowing down the tracks
I need to know the outcome
The latest on the facts
One hour, two hours, three and then more
I should be grateful that they
Take their time
But tell me I, implore
What the hell is going on
I’m miles and miles away
Wringing hands
And biting nails
To get me through the day
Four hours, five hours, then it turns to six
As the pit in my stomach
Makes me feel so sick
Trying to stay positive
Trying to be calm
Reassurance that the passing time
Is no real cause for alarm
Seven hours, eight hours
The panic starts to creep
As my wonderful brave mummy
Battles in her sleep
Nine is the magic number
She is poorly but alive
A long way to recovery
But a new chance to survive!

Thanks for all the prayers and good wishes! Hang in there Mum! We love you!

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

