Head hunter..


Being in recruitment I’m used to a variety of reactions… Oh you’re one of those headhunter people! Some eye rolling, some facing pulling.
I got in to recruitment by accident. I was originally a registered nurse in the UK and had a terrible car accident that altered my mobility and made it difficult for me to work in a field that requires you to be on your feet most of the day and manually moving patients from A to B.
I was fortunate to get a role combining my skills when I joined a small consulting group that wanted a registered nurses to help start up their permanent placement division of the company. Focussing on nurses.
My first ever placement was bringing an enthusiastic nurse, from a small village in Africa. We used video conferencing and were able to see her live and do a full face to face interview!
The joy she expressed when she was successfully hired was beyond anything I had seen before. The money she was going to earn was not just going to make a difference to her own life, but that of her very extended family and in turn the whole village.
When she arrived in the UK, she made a point of coming to see me personally and taking a number of pictures to share with her family so they could see who had made it all possible. Her words, not mine!
I felt that even though I was no longer a practicing nurse, I could still use many of the skills! Assessment and observation, rapport building, recommendation and follow up. All skills relevant to recruiting, but most of all… I could still make a difference!
I read an article on a recruiting blog this week, where an arrogant recruiter who definitely deserves the eye roll and the look of disgust made an entry level candidate uncomfortable on purpose.
He asked her, why he should consider her, what made her so special and different from every other asshole new grad….
After a few minutes of bullying she replied… Right now the only thing that separates me from an asshole is this desk! Now I’m sure I didn’t do the story justice, but you can get the general idea!

I am passionate about what I do! I love putting candidates at ease and getting the best out of them. I get excited when I find top talent and make a difference in both the company and the person’s lives! I am so far away from the arrogant recruiter mentioned above. I care about the people, I take pride and maintain my integrity, if that makes me … One of those headhunter types… Then so be it!

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

