My cup runneth over…


Anyone that has been informed that their loved one has ‘cancer’ will know how I feel!
You go throw a roller coaster of emotions almost like a bereavement!
Throughout the process of my Mums treatment and surgeries I’ve tried to be selfless. I’ve reminded myself it’s not about me! What ever she needs to get through this, I will try to accommodate.
When she told me not to go home to England while she underwent her 9hr life saving surgery. I was stunned, but that’s what she needed. She could not be strong and fight with me hanging around. (her words). She would find recovery difficult with two tots under foot. So… I stayed!
I waited, and I waited. I prayed, I yelled, I cried and I waited….
The hardest part of this whole journey is not knowing. Not knowing how she really is. Not knowing how she is coping. Not knowing, if… Or when I will get to see her again!
I was so jealous of my step sister and brother, my aunts and uncles, friends and family who slowly over the last two weeks have been to see her!
That was until today! My hubby bought me a new phone. With Skype and face time. Today, my wait was over. I saw her, large as life! As if nothing had happened! No epic battle, no 9hrs in surgery, no ICU!
Words can not describe my pride. She is an inspiration to us all! A tower of strength, generosity and kindness!
My cup runneth over……

About yorkshiremummy

Born and Raised in Yorkshire, Now at Large in North America. Working Wife and Mum of 2. Occasionally sarcastic, Often inappropriate, but always real! Having snorkeled with sharks in the Maldives, ridden an Elephant in Sri Lanka, swum in an underground river in Mexico and played with Lion cubs in South Africa, currently enjoying the crazy adventure of motherhood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My cup runneth over…

  1. markukleaf says:

    I need a “love” button here 🙂 Like just doesn’t cut it!

  2. JallieDaddy says:

    Only just read this: sorry to hear about this, it must be difficult. At least, as you say, you can now keep in touch much more easily. I use Skype to keep in touch with my Mum in NZ – who also battles with cancer – plus my sister & her kids. Thinking of you x

Leave a comment